Embracing Awesome

Snowangel's 12WBT Journey and Beyond

Where is summer???…but it’s great for running!

on January 11, 2012

I woke up this morning feeling keen to run again.  I decided as I was getting dressed that I would start the Bridge to 10K program that I have installed as an app on my phone.  I thought it might make things more interesting if I had a program to follow and a goal to work towards.

It was quite chilly this morning so I donned my thermal compression tights and long sleeve running top, an outfit I used to wear in winter.  What is going on?  It’s January and I’m dressing like it’s August!  But I can’t complain because it makes for brilliant running weather.  On of my greatest concerns coming in to summer was that I would find running too hot but so far this has not been a problem.  In fact, it feels like summer hasn’t even started here.  But that’s life in the mountains!!

I ended up running almost 8km this morning (there was a bit of walking in there too!) but it felt great to push myself just that little bit harder and further.  Sometimes I find it hard to believe that I run – a year ago I wouldn’t even have considered it! 

I started running after reading Mish’s Crunchtime book and realising what an effective exercise it was.  So I thought I would give it a go.  I could barely run for 1 minute but I kept trying – walk a few minutes, run 1 minute, walk a few minutes, run 1 minute.  You get the idea!  Then I discovered the Couch to 5K program and downloaded an app onto my phone.  It was great because a little voice would come through my earphones telling me when to walk and run.  It meant I didn’t have to keep checking my watch every 5 seconds while I was gasping for breath!  It took me a bit longer than 9 weeks to get through the program but I got there and I have been regularly running 5km ever since.  So if you’ve never run before and you would like to give it a go then give the Couch to 5k program a try. 

Ease into 5K App for iPhone

Ease into 5K Android App

2 responses to “Where is summer???…but it’s great for running!

  1. bearrunner says:

    Global warming, it’s bad but grand at the same time!

    Cheers

  2. rockafellaskank says:

    As you know, I’m not a fan of running, but it’s great that you are continuing to enjoy it and working up to longer and longer runs.

    This summer weather is indeed strange. This is our first hot week here in Qld (was 36C yesterday and everyone was in shock!). My summer clothes are still strewn about my spare bedroom waiting to be put into drawers… but I haven’t actually needed them yet!

    Deb

Leave a Reply

