Embracing Awesome

Snowangel's 12WBT Journey and Beyond

Back to boot camp!

on January 30, 2012

Today I made it back to boot camp after work. Boot camp is not always on…it usually happens in 5 week blocks with a Monday PM session and a Wednesday AM session. I can usually only make it on Mondays but its well worth going so I get to train a bit differently.  I also find the group environment really spurs me on to push myself harder.  Today’s session was great and I only really struggled with the mountain climbers – they make me feel like I’m going to throw up.  So do burpees but luckily we were spared from them today!  It was great to really work hard again and I am looking forward to the next one.

I’m gradually getting my eating back on track.  I really had gone quite off the rails but the past few days I have been using My Fitness Pal to track my calories and while my intake may not have been ideal, it has been more under control.

I have been having some training issues this past week.  It seems that all that extra running the week before (thanks to the Bridge to 10k program) had caused a problem with my hip.  I think it’s a form of bursitis according to my self-diagnosing on the internet (something I know I shouldn’t do) but it does seem to clear up a bit given some rest time.  Problem is that I don’t give it much rest so it keeps coming back.  Maybe a trip to the physio is in order!

5 responses to “Back to boot camp!

  1. Great work on getting back to bootcamp. I’ve also finally re-engaged with My Fitness Pal this week (writing a blog about having gotten an email on the weekend reminding me it’d been over a week since I’d logged in!).

    Hope you get the hip issue sorted.

    • Hi Deb,
      Thanks again for reading my blog. I have been reading yours but I’m a bit slack leaving comments. Usually get interrupted by husband or 2 yr old and it never happens or worse still blogs left half read!! I do have a brief moment of peace early in the morning when I try to catch up, tweet etc. Anyway Fitness Pal has paid off this week…loss of 0.5kg!

  2. Amanda Hyatt says:

    Isn’t it amazing how inputting your food into My Fitness Pal can make such a difference?? Well done for getting back on track. Keep an eye on that hip! Best rest for 2 days than be out of action for 2 months! (speaking from experience – just been blogging about it. So frustrating!) Enjoy boot camp! Good to get back to it. x

    • Yep My Fitness Pal is my friend! I had ignored it for a while but its good to be using it and staying accountable again! The hip is getting better…probably because I haven’t done much running. Need to get it sorted as I’m competing in an event in early March that involves two runs…a 6k trail run and a 5k run. There’s a big gap between the two so I’m confident I can manage it.
      Have been reading your trials with injury…I do enjoy reading your blog! Will pop by and post a comment soon.

  3. Tina says:

    I have to say that I am so much more accountable for the food I eat since I started using My Fitness Pal and added friends. I used to use it, but I kept it a hidden thing and didn’t add people on there, but in the end it was just too easy to cheat myself. I feel bad if I lie to people, so I tend to be a bit more honest about the food that I eat now that I’ve added friends on My Fitness Pal – as well as putting up the food I eat, every day on my blog.

    Good luck with your hip, I hope it settles down for you so you can do your running again, with no pain and no risk of injury 🙂 (isn’t self diagnosis on the net a wonderful thing :/)

Leave a Reply

