Embracing Awesome

Snowangel's 12WBT Journey and Beyond

A rollercoaster round…

on April 15, 2012

So I have been rather absent of late.  I think I was expecting a bit too much of myself to be able to keep this blog up to date whilst in the midst of a 12WBT round.  It has been a crazy 9 weeks so far and my weight has been up and down like a yo-yo but I am beginning to realise that this round for me has been more about other achievements. 

While I have lost 2.5kg for the round so far, I have also made great improvements in my fitness and become more focussed on setting and achieving goals.  I have achieved a long-held dream to run 5km in under 30 minutes and I am now training for a 10k fun run in May.  I ran 10km today for the first time in quite a while and I loved it!  It was a really enjoyable run and a great chance to assess where my body is at.  There were a few niggles along the way with knees and glutes and those damn ITBs but I have been spending some serious time stretching and massaging and I’m feeling really good about how its all going.  I felt so good after today’s run that I almost felt like going back out to run another 10km!  This is a great feeling and I’m glad to know that it is possible to feel like that because my next goal is to run a half marathon in September. 

Well this is not much of an update – just a quicky!  But all is going well and I am just loving running.  So hard to believe that I could barely run for a minute a year ago.  Running is one of the best things that’s happened to me.  It always makes me feel better and it has made me realise that I am stronger than I ever thought possible and that the possibilities are endless.

4 responses to “A rollercoaster round…

  1. Debbish says:

    Wow! Congrats on the runs – the 5km AND the 10km! That is such a great achievement!

  2. Donna says:

    You are doing amazing with your running so thats a huge achievement, you have been a huge inspiration to me and I can’t thankyou enough for posting your results after the last round because thats what made me join, I am now back running and loving it I have too now run 10km, loved it sooooo much, and while I’m in the 10’s I have now lost 13.5kg since preseason and 10kg in the 9 weeks so far, and this my friend is all because of you, THANKYOU you have made me find me again and I’m loving it 🙂 xx

    • Donna, thank you so much for your kind words! I am so happy that I have helped inspire you to achieve such great results! It’s all a bit new to me this being an inspiration thing – a few people have said it to me but I don’t really think of it that way. I’m just doing my thing but I guess it is pretty cool if I can inspire people along the way. You are doing great – 13.5kg is a fantastic loss! And I can totally relate to that great feeling of finding yourself again. It is such a great feeling! I may not have reached my weight loss goal just yet but I have gained so much else – I am happier, more confident and loving life like never before!!

Leave a Reply

